A divorce is uncontested if both parties agree to all issues of property division, debt, custody and support. The vast majority of divorces in the United States are uncontested. In fact, most divorcing couples never see the inside of a courtroom.
In Kentucky, a divorce requires the filing of a Petition for Dissolution, a financial disclosure, and a settlement agreement. The settlement agreement is the document that sets forth the parties' agreement on all issues. At the conclusion of the divorce, the settlement agreement becomes an enforceable court order.
$497 - Seriously, that's all. We charge only $497 to draft and file your uncontested divorce. This fee includes an attorney consultation, if you so desire. You will only be charged more if you request additional services, such as the drafting of deeds, qualified orders, or an update to your will.
Each county has a fee for filing your divorce. The fee is ordinarily between $203 and $332. You will pay this fee to us and we will pay the court clerk at the time of filing.
Once you complete our intake process, our attorneys can draft most divorces within a few business days. We will file your divorce immediately after you and your spouse sign the pleadings and settlement. If there are no minor children, the Judge will ordinarily sign your divorce decree within 7-10 days.
If you have minor children, Kentucky law requires the courts to wait 60 days before signing a divorce decree. We will submit your decree for signature at the expiration of 60 days. Once submitted, the court will ordinarily sign the decree within 7-10 days.
Uncontested divorces do not require the parties to appear before a judge. Once our attorneys have drafted all of the required documents, the parties can sign the documents before a Notary public, either in our office or at another location of your choosing. All statutorily required testimony can be taken by affidavit, which we will prepare for you. Once all of the documents are signed and filed with the court, the final decree can be submitted to the judge for his or her signature.
If a motion must be filed in order to finalize your divorce, we will make all appearances for you.
Kentucky requires parties with minor children to attend a divorce education class call Families In Transition. This six-hour education rouse is attended by both parties, separately, and any children ages 5 to 17. The goal of the program is to help parents avoid many of the emotional and behavioral pitfalls often associated with divorce. The program is mandatory for divorcing parents of minor children in Kentucky.
More information about the program can be found here.
Kentucky courts require a comprehensive financial disclosure and settlement in order to obtain a divorce. Couples cannot simply go their separate ways without specifically stating how the possessions are to be divided and how they will exercise custody if they have children. For this reason, most divorcing couples are unable to navigate the specific requirements of Kentucky divorce without the assistance of a lawyer. That is where we come in!
Using our approach you will understand all aspects of your divorce settlement, ensuring that you you get exactly what you want out of your divorce. All at a low cost.